The Washing

As I type this morning, I am serenaded by one of my favorite sounds… the gentle splatter of raindrops on my patio. To be honest, the soothing sound is tempting me to curl back up in the bed, next to Brad, and dream the day away.  I’ve always enjoyed the rain and it’s incredible power to relax me. My entire body seems to exhale in one long, slow breath. I become more alert, more focused and more intent on accomplishing my goals. Perhaps it is because the rain presents everything in a new light. Although the sun isn’t shining, the plants seem to shine brighter and all of nature appears to stand at attention, allowing the water to gently wash away the dirt and grime, cleansing the foliage to better receive the rays of the sun when it reappears.  The rain washes, waters and prepares the plant to be replenished so that the plant can reproduce. What an incredible responsibility, no wonder the drops fall heavy at times.

While listening to the rain, I opened my devotional and began to read. One of the scriptural references was Isaiah 55:9, but my eye caught the word “rain” in verse 10 , so I continued to read.

For as the heavens are higher that the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, and make it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater.

God is so cool! How incredible is it that while I am sitting, enjoying one of my favorite sounds, He sets a nugget from His Word right in front of me!  Psalm 119:9 says, How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word. The Word of God has a job too, to cleanse us. God inspired the writing of His Word with us in mind. He knew we would need encouragement, He knew we would need to be enlightened. He knew we would face struggles and need direction. Everything we need to do life better can be found in His Word. When we read, the Word washes over us, removing the dirt, cleansing the pores of our heart, and waters the seeds planted in our Spirit. Those seeds are there to help us reproduce! It’s the nature of a seed – to reproduce in the likeness of the host plant. Just as the rain washes, waters and prepares the plant to be replenished so that the plant can reproduce, so the Word of God washes, waters and prepares us to multiply. We were never meant to drink all day. A plant that is watered too much will drown. If we never empty ourselves, then the Word has nothing to replenish.

I challenge you today to empty yourself on His behalf. Allow the Holy Spirit to fertilize the seeds He has planted in you. Look for ways to reproduce the Love the Father has extended to you. Find opportunities to be depleted so that when you run back to him, He will know you need a good, steady rain of His Word to wash over you. He will see that you are covered with the residue from the dirt and grime of the world you planted seeds in. The dirtier you are the more rain He will send to replenish, restore and renew. Go play in the dirt today!


Leave a comment